THE OLD FIREHOUSE AND POLICE MUSEUM IS CLOSED FOR THE WINTER SEASON (from October 7th 2019 thru mid-May 2020). Contact us to schedule a group tour during the winter season.
Old Firehouse & Police Museum
402 23rd. Ave. East, Superior, WI
Always FREE admission at the last of Superior’s 1890 Fire Halls
Built in 1898, the Old Firehouse originally housed five horse-drawn rigs, including the city’s first steamer. Enjoy a unique look at historic fire fighting equipment and police memorabilia in the last of Superior’s nineteenth century fire halls!
The self guided tour includes the first floor, filled with historic fire rigs including the Fire Chief’s nineteenth century horse-drawn buggy, a 1906 Ahrens Steam Pumper, a 1919 LaFrance Ladder Truck, and a 1944 L Model Mack with a Hale pump.
On the second floor see the progression of improvements in typical firefighters’ equipment through the years and visit the State of Wisconsin Police and Fire Hall of Fame installation. Plan to spend at least 45 minutes to tour the museum.